The export is the product, and it is where the metering lives
Every tool in this category will let you build something for nothing. That is the funnel, and it works because the cost of the editor is not what you are buying. What you are buying is a finished file without a logo burned into the corner, at a resolution you can actually put on a landing page. Three of the five state this outright.
Animaker says its free plan gives you “basic animation tools, limited premium assets, and watermarked exports”. Renderforest says its free plan includes basic templates and tools, but that “exports on the free plan may include watermarks or lower resolution compared to paid plans”. Powtoon says its free plan “lets you create and export videos with some limitations”, without specifying which, which is its own kind of answer.
The comparison matrix
| Tool | What it is | Free tier | Export terms | Published entry price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Animaker | Animation maker, thousands of stated templates, character builder | Yes, with watermarked exports and limited premium assets | MP4, GIF or WebM, SD up to 4K. Premium exports metered; extra exports stated at $15 each | $19/mo Starter (removes watermark); $49/mo Pro |
| Biteable | Online AI video maker with a large template library | not stated on the pricing page we read | not itemised on the pricing page we read | $15/mo billed yearly ($180/yr), 1 user; $29/mo monthly. Premium+ $49/mo yearly ($588/yr), 3 users |
| Powtoon | Unified AI video platform; 100s of stated free templates | Yes, states export is possible “with some limitations” | Limitations stated but not itemised publicly | not published where we could read |
| Renderforest | Video, design and website builder; explainer and logo animation templates | Yes, basic templates and tools | Free exports “may include watermarks or lower resolution” | not published where we could read |
| simpleshow | AI text-to-video explainer tool with an AI avatar format | not stated on the pages we read | not stated on the pages we read | not published where we could read |
On published price alone, Biteable at $15 a month billed yearly is the cheapest entry, and Animaker at $19 a month is the cheapest that explicitly names watermark removal as the thing you are buying. Three of the five do not publish a price in a form we could read, which is itself worth knowing before you plan a procurement around one.
Two brands people still search for, and what actually happened
Round-ups in this category have a habit of recommending tools that no longer exist, because the article was written once and never re-checked. Both of the following were checked on 17 September 2026 by requesting the domain and reading what came back.
Moovly
The domain is for sale. Requesting moovly.com redirects to a DropCatch domain-sale listing at www.DropCatch.com/domain/moovly.com. There is no product behind it.
Do not start a project here. If a 2026 round-up still recommends it, that round-up has not been re-checked.
Doodly
Absorbed, not dead. doodly.com now returns a page titled “Doodly | Voomly Cloud”. The brand survives inside the Voomly platform rather than as the standalone product people remember.
Still reachable, but you are buying into Voomly's platform and pricing, not the old standalone tool.
What we could not read, and why we are saying so
Powtoon, Renderforest and simpleshow did not render a price to us. Their pricing pages either required JavaScript we could not execute in the fetch, or their navigation did not expose a pricing URL we could follow without inventing one. We do not construct vendor URLs, because a guessed address is how a comparison ends up describing a squatter's parking page as a product.
So those three carry not published where we could read rather than a number. That is less satisfying than a full table and it is the honest state of our information. If you are choosing between them, their own pricing pages in a normal browser are one click away and will be more current than anything we could have written down anyway.
Export caps sit alongside watermarking as the other lever free tiers use to meter you, so what the free tiers actually permit is worth reading next to this. For the wider AI video field, we keep a broader list.
Sources
Every quotation and figure on this page was read from the vendor’s own live pages on 17 September 2026. Links go to the exact page each claim came from.
- Animaker. Pricing. Published plan ladder, premium-export allowances and the stated $15 per additional export, read 17 September 2026.
- Animaker. Product pages. Free-plan statement describing watermarked exports, and the stated export formats MP4, GIF and WebM from SD up to 4K.
- Biteable. Pricing. Pro and Premium+ tiers, monthly and annual, read 17 September 2026.
- Renderforest. Product pages. Free-plan statement that exports "may include watermarks or lower resolution compared to paid plans".
- Powtoon. Product pages. Free-plan statement that it "lets you create and export videos with some limitations".
- Moovly and Doodly. Domain checks. Both domains requested on 17 September 2026: moovly.com redirected to a DropCatch domain-sale listing; doodly.com returned a page titled "Doodly | Voomly Cloud".
Frequently asked questions
Can I use an explainer video made on a free plan commercially?
Usually you can build it, but what leaves the editor is the constraint. Animaker states free exports are watermarked and Renderforest states free exports may carry watermarks or lower resolution. A watermarked file is rarely usable as a brand asset, which is what the paid tier is actually selling.
Which is cheapest?
On published entry price, Biteable at $15 a month billed yearly, or $29 a month if paid monthly. Animaker's $19 a month Starter is the cheapest plan that explicitly names watermark removal. Three of the five do not publish a readable price.
Is Moovly still available?
No. On 17 September 2026 moovly.com redirected to a DropCatch domain-sale listing, meaning the domain is being sold rather than serving a product.
What happened to Doodly?
It is now part of Voomly Cloud; doodly.com returns a page titled "Doodly | Voomly Cloud". The tool is reachable, but as part of that platform rather than the standalone product it used to be.